Your Wedding - Your Way. If your last divorce, annulment, or dissolution took place within the past 90 days, provide the following: Things you must bring You will need to provide a copy of your divorce decree aka divorce certificate. Each of our couples receive a beautiful Certificate of Marriage. Your license is only valid within the borders of California. When you get married, you'll be provided a marriage certificate filed in Fresno County which provides proof of marriage and is the primary document used to facilitate the name change process. If you have specific questions about how the changes may legally affect you or if you have legal questions about the Name Equality Act, you should consult with a private attorney.
Acceptance of These Terms By accessing this website, the user accepts the General Conditions and Specific Rules of Use, which can be modified or replaced by the company at any moment and without previous warning. You have no idea how many couples forget to bring their license to their wedding. Checks are accepted for certified copies of the Confidential Marriage License. This web page will give you general information regarding the requirements for the issuance and registration of public and confidential marriage licenses in California, as well as answer many frequently asked questions regarding the laws pertaining to marriage licenses and ceremonies in California. Keep this in mind if you plan to get married at Lake Tahoe, where you might end up in the state of Nevada instead. License Valid: 90 days 9.
Any information submitted to our website is subject to our Terms of Service, the terms of which are incorporated herein. Yes, Fresno County will issue marriage licenses to same-sex couples. Introduce yourself as a minister officiating a wedding, and ask them what documents they will need from you. Some documents can be ordered online through an independent partner company that will mail the documents to you. If you don't get married before time runs out, you'll have to start over and apply for a brand new license. You will have to explain to the judge why you believe an annulment is appropriate. Watch as your family and friends look in awe of the jaw dropping location that will serve as the backdrop to a spectacular evening none of you will forget! Have a certified copy your divorce decree or death certificate in hand when you arrive to complete your application.
Some locations take appointments, and others stop taking applications up to half an hour before closing time. If you still have specific questions about changing your name, contact us for further assistance, or contact the California Department of Public Health Vital Records, Customer Service Unit at 916 445-2684. Once I get my license, do I have to wait to get married? You should be married within 90 days from the issuance of the license. Accepted forms of payment are cash and money order. They have information and forms to correct or amend a record, add or change a parent's name, preparing new certificates for adoptions, and changes in paternity information. Certain counties require a birth certificate. You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California.
Yes, in California, cousin marriage are permissible. Proxy Marriages What exactly is a proxy marriage? Where Can I Get a Marriage License in Fresno County, California? Talk to a lawyer for help doing this. If you are in a Domestic Partnership with someone else, you may need to consult an attorney to dissolve that legal relationship first. Vital Records Now offers secure delivery and fast process times. You probably know about people getting ordained online which allows them to perform marriage ceremonies. No checks will be accepted.
If you do not have either of these, you must provide a certified copy of your birth certificate and another acceptable form of picture I. Fresno Wedding Chapel - Elopement or Small Weddings Our Chapel has a beautiful Wedding Arbor. Restricted Copies Anyone may obtain a restricted certified copy of a marriage record. You can get married immediately after you receive your marriage license. Depending on whether the respondent responds within those 30 days or not, your next steps will vary.
Marriage between cousins: No 12. Failure to get married within that time frame would make the license invalid and you need to apply for another one, thereby entailing another cost. Except in some counties where both licenses cost the same. The only thing that is shipped via , , or depending on which shipping method you choose is your actual vital record itself, directly from the government agency to you. No, whether you live in Fresno County or are just visiting, the standard is the same. To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application.
To determine whether your local court will allow for filing via mail, what to include in your mailing to the court, and where to direct the mailing to, contact the court clerk's office. Fill Out Your Court Forms To start an annulment case, you have to fill out the same forms as with a divorce or legal separation. The court website has information on how much your fee will be. Learn more by visiting our and © Persopo. To download free Adobe Acrobat Reader: download. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. As long as you meet the requirements, you get your marriage license upon application.
It is essential to us that your privacy is protected. Requests for Recorded Documents can be made in person, by mail, or by using the if you will be picking up the copies in person. Make a copy of these forms so that, after the clerk files and keeps the original, you will have a copy for yourself. Expiration dates When will my marriage license expire? If you previously registered as a Domestic Partner and are marrying the same person, California domestic partnership statutes permit an individual to be both married and in a registered domestic partnership, so long as it is to the same person. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. Where should we go to learn more? Some states require a medical examination or Blood tests before you marry, along with required proof of identification and the license fee.